I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

I am the Messenger is the second book written by Markus Zusak, the award winning author of The Book Thief. While I know that many of my readers enjoy the more critical reviews that I give on films and books, I have to disappoint you this time because I am the Messenger is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Besides the Storm Light series that I love and you have all seen my review for, I think the last time I read a book this good was when I read The Book Thief.

This book is so heart warming and emotional, but still includes other aspects, such as comedy and mystery, that make it enjoyable for many readers. I honestly could not put it down. Even though I am a slower reader, I got through this book in two days because all I wanted to do was read it.

Markus Zusak has a wonderful style that keeps you enthralled while moving the plot forward and giving great depth to characters. His books are young adult literature, which means they will be easier to read, but he does not sacrifice quality for the sake o the genre. You make strong emotional connections to his characters, even the side characters that are just one small part of the larger story.

I honestly cannot say anything bad about this book other than that I wasn’t ready for it to end and now I am having book withdrawal. If you’re looking for light reading, I seriously recommend this book. And if you’re looking for something that is a little less light (rather dark actually) but still vastly enjoyable, look for Zusak’s other book, The Book Thief.

I will definitely be getting Bridge of Clay when it comes out in early October so keep an eye out for that review.

Rating: 5/5

lauryn rating 1-01lauryn rating 1-01lauryn rating 1-01lauryn rating 1-01lauryn rating 2-01

Leave a comment